We Start with Introductions

I’d like to introduce myself.  My name is Kelly.  I am one week away from turning 25, the age at which I was sure I would have all of life’s questions answered.  Here I am, feeling like I have more questions than answers but throwing myself into something new to start 25 off with a bang!

I have a wonderful boyfriend that is the first in line to test my baking experiments, or the first to egg me on to try that really awesome new idea we found while browsing FoodGawker.   I have two great parents, two great brothers and my brothers have made excellent selections in their two significant others.   I must say we all count the days until our annual family camping trip as it’s always filled to the brim with laughs and maybe a few mosquito bites and sunburns.

I have loved baking for years.  This love was passed on from a babysitter I had at a young age as well as from my Grandma B.  I suppose some of my basic baking ideals were established through my Mom who ensured that on each of our Birthdays (my two older brothers and myself) we had a cake made at home, beautifully decorated with love.  It wasn’t until I went away to University that I fully realized you could BUY birthday cake’s at almost every grocery store and that people regularly did this!  Luckily my parents kitchen was fully stocked throughout my childhood so I could experiment whenever I felt like it (cakes, muffins, cookies, pies, candy moulds, lollipops, etc).

For the past few years I have religiously followed a few different blogs that have proven to be a great influence on my life.  I have rotated through a couple blogs but the best have stuck around.   I maintain my daily fixes through the quite variable posts of The Pioneer Woman, I Should Be Folding Laundry, Bakerella and How Sweet Eats.  Other guilty pleasures include: Joy The Baker, Annie’s Eats, almost any section within The GawkerVerse, Perez Hilton (total guilty pleasure) and finally the most wonderful accumulation of all things wonderful, Pinterest.

I have inherited my Mom’s love for reading and plan to include you in my journey through the highs and lows that come with reading the great and not-so-great novels.  I have learned you must trudge through the mud before you find gold!

I hope that through the creation of this blog I can expand my baking expertise (ha) experiments, my passion for learning new things and sharing them with others!

I hope you stick around to enjoy this journey with me.

Leave a Reply

